Malazan book of the Fallen Review tells that this is one of Steven Erikson’s modern fantasy series of book, “Malazan Book Of Fallen,” which is the breathtaking piece of work.  This epic consists of various books as mentioned below:

(1)-Gardens of the Moon

(2)-Deadhouse Gates

(3)-Memories of Ice

(4)-House of Chains

(5)-Midnight Tides

(6)The Bonehunters

(7)-Reaper’s Gale

(8)-Toll the Hounds

(9)-Dust of Dreams

(10)-The Crippled God

Malazan book of the Fallen Review tells you that all of the books included in Malazan book collection deals with various themes.

However, this review is about his very first book, Garden of the Moon that is Steven’s most fantastic book. Book-lovers like this book with the heartiest due to many reasons. However, because there are plenty of characters in the book, so, it becomes difficult for readers to remember the position of all characters; ambiguous. Garden of the Moon takes place in Genabackis, a fantasy world consisting of a large number of continents, but the Malazan Empire is the most extensive one of all. When the novel begins, the Malazan Empire is assailing Genabackis. Only two cities of Genabackis; Warrens and Darujhistan remain triumphant. It shows that the Malazan fails to subdue them. Moreover, the novel mostly brightens the part of the story that takes place at Darujhistan, where the important races dwell.

Malazan book of the Fallen collection’s Gardens of the Moon review reveals that after the defeat of Pale, Sergeants and his followers try to open the gates for the Malazan Empire to enter into the city of Darujhistan but invade. However, Darujhistan is an over-crowded city. Bridge-burners and Tattersail entangle in a difficult situation; however, they discover that gods themselves are involved in such a fatal scheme.

Steven Erikson has made the story as modern as the author, O’Neil, who has created a recent tragedy, “Mourning Becomes Electra.” Gardens of the Moon doesn’t deal with the ancient style of fantasy, but it gives the readers a novelty in the genre of modern fiction. Erikson’s style of writing is to choose literary words for the story.

The focus of the writer is on the art of characterization. The story develops with the development of characters as you progress to the heart of the book. However, Erikson is an expert in the art of painting the portrait of his story.

Now I would like to mention two of his major characters in this book, called Captain Paran and Shadow Throne. Paran possesses heroic qualities, and he performs the role of a hero in the novel, whereas Shadow throne is a negative character that performs as a villain.  Paran lives like a soldier but meets his tragic fate. Shadow throne assassinates Paran by treachery.

The story of Gardens of Moon is creepy and awe-inspiring. The author uses animal imagery like William Shakespeare’s and Ted Hughes’s style in the novel. The use of ‘seven ancient hounds’ creates an image of horror and fear.

Malazan book of the Fallen review (Gardens of the Moon review) tells that two more characters play a vital role in the development of the story; Sergeant Whiskevjack and Tattersail. They are fundamental characters too, but Paran and Shadow throne are standing on the high pedestal. In Gardens of the Moon, all other characters are amusing and alluring. They all are lifelike and are not mere the pictures of an art gallery.

Erikson succeeds in portraying realistic characters like Chaucer. Neither his role is an embodiment for good nor evil. They are a mixture of good and bad; they are not free from human errors and follies.

The plot of the novel is also stunning, as well as tricky and creepy. Erikson organizes a beautiful plot of the story. It is universally admitted that nothing is perfect and the same is portrayed within the Gardens of the Moon’s plot. In short, it is really an excellent book that I like the most. I hope that you’ll enjoy reading it too.

You have an option to read more variety of book reviews (e.g., The Wheel of Time Review), under the book category.